Review: The Theory of Everything by Kari Luna

review by MARISA

ImageSophie Sophia is my favourite kind of protagonist – a quirky girl obsessed with mixtapes and eighties music, and who sews pockets into all her clothes. She’s starting out at a new school, having recently moved to Havencrest, Illinois with her mom. She hasn’t seen her dad in years – he’s an eccentric physicist who disappears from time to time, and sees things other people can’t. Now Sophie is starting to see things, too – things like panda marching bands and lunch ladies singing The Ramones – and she thinks that maybe finding her dad could help her figure out how to stop the “episodes”. Together with Walt, a talking panda, and Finny, an actual person and probably her first real friend, Sophie travels to New York to learn more about her dad and his research on M-theory.

I liked the whimsy of this story, although it does get a little too cutesy for me at some points, and there were a few things I found problematic about it. But. I love Sophie Sophia’s how-to lists and her mix tapes, I love her music taste and her clothes, and I really love her best friend. Even though I said that Sophie’s my favourite kind of protagonist, Finny is easily my favourite character in the book, and I think even though I loved the physics and Sophie’s discovery about her dad’s research, what I loved best about this book would be the friendship between the two. Best friends are the awesomest, and this book celebrates that. Sophie Sophia does get a romantic interest – a crush on a guy obsessed with Kerouac, and while their romance is sweet and all, I really appreciated the fact that it ends as a mutual crush that might be something more in the future, rather than following the “true love” trope that seems to plague most of the YA books I’ve read.

★★★☆☆

2 responses to “Review: The Theory of Everything by Kari Luna

  1. Pingback: Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg | elsewhere·

  2. Nice review! And I agree, Finny is my absolute favorite character. He needs to be given a “Super Awesome BFF Award” 🙂 I honestly didn’t mind the cutesy stuff, it seemed appropriate for a an adorably quirky character like Sophie.I appreciate that despite Sophie’s issues, this book wasn’t all teen angst and mooning over boys, but instead celebrates friendship and love in all shapes in sizes.

Leave a Reply

